Frederick County Retired School Personnel Association Luncheon Meeting Dutch's Daughter Restaurant, Frederick, MD May 15, 2018

President Linda King welcomed everyone to the luncheon. Bill Price led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by the meal prayer.

Following the meal, Linda called the meeting to order. There were several items of business for this meeting.

- 1. FCRSPA Membership Co-Chairs, Marsha Wise and Debbie Thackston, gave an update on the Emeritus Members (those 90 years or older) in both the state and local associations. Currently there are over 600 members in the state association, with over 100, 100 years of age or older. In FCRSPA, there are 22 emeritus members, with seven attending today's luncheon. Recognized with a brief bio of their time in FCPS were: Albertine Baker, Phyllis Smith, Dr. Fred Brown, Barbara McCutcheon Martin, Nancy Greenwood Franck, Mildred Nicodemus, and Dorothy Fogle. Each member was given an FCRSPA mug with "goodies" inside.
- 2. The Program for today was a presentation on the Catoctin Forest Alliance. An FCRSPA member, Shelly Miller has been volunteering with this organization since her retirement (and worked with them in her career as a science teacher at Frederick High). Slides accompanied by a narrative showed the various programs and volunteer opportunities members may want to become a part of.
- 3. Installation of President-Elect: Tom Slater was installed as President-Elect of FCRPSA by MRSPA Secretary, Nancy Gordon. He will serve a one-year term, become President for two years, and then serve as Past President.
- 4. Highlights of the MRSPA Annual Meeting held on May 8th included FCRSPA winning an award for increased membership, FCRSPA winning the Community Service Local Association award for the "Great Frederick Fair Field Trip," coordinated by John George, and FCRSPA winning the Community Service Individual award to Shari Ostrow Scher for her work in founding and coordinating the Children of Incarcerated Parents Program.

Door prizes were awarded to various attendees.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Gordon, Acting Secretary